January 4, 2012 Birding in Key Largo and Everglades National Park   Leave a comment

I thought it would be a good idea to go back to the shell stores I saw in Key Largo area.  I wanted to pick up a few shells and ask a friend to incorporate them into a necklace.  We quickly discovered that there was a great deal of shells imported from Taiwan.  I didn’t see anything that said that it was plucked from the Florida area or the Keys.  A bit disappointing but at the same time I was heart warmed to think that conserving nature was important here too.

This day quickly became a day to capture birds.  On the way back from Key Largo Bill stopped so I could take a pictures of the Great Egrets.

Great Egrets in flight

Frozen in time or looking for a frog to eat

Tree full of Great Egrets

I was happy that we could stop on the side of the road so that I could take pictures of these beauties.  I had seen them the previous two days but due to the traffic it would not have been safe to stop.

Next Birding in Everglades National Park

Posted July 19, 2012 by cjaaron1 in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

